CTC honors nursing graduates

The Central Texas College (CTC) Nursing Department held pinning ceremonies Friday, December 14 in the Anderson Campus Center to honor students in both the Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) and Licensed Vocational Nursing (LVN) programs. Fifty-four students received their pins upon completing 71 credit hours of course work and clinical rotations in the ADN program while 24 students completed the 53 credit hours for the LVN program.

Guest speaker for the ADN ceremony was C.W. Luther, R.N., M.S.N., director of the Intensive Care Unit at Scott and White Hospital, while Sharon Carter, R.N., M.S.N., F.N.P. and CTC nursing professor, addressed the LVN graduates.

Several students were recognized during the ADN ceremony. Amy Carroll received the Caring Heart Award. Runners-up for the award were Suzanne Chandler, Lynn Meyers and K’Lee Reynolds. Also cited were the honors graduates. Graduating with high honors for maintaining a at least a 3.8 grade point average were Allison Gallegos, Candis Johnson, Jennifer Lallis and Jennifer Stone. Graduating with honors for maintaining at least a 3.5 grade point average were Shanah Adkins, Rebecca Blitz, Chelsey Bourdon, Suzanne Chandler, Kristin Cummings, Meaghan Findley, Rachel Hester, Andri Kelley, Quintella Mallory, Shelby Marenco, Lauren Smiley, Kristina Stout and Sandra Nash.

Graduating with high honors in the LVN class were Elizabeth Gault, Ashley Lowery and Arielle Kaplan. Honors graduates were Taryn Yanez, Rayveon Washington, Beatrice Gone, Rita Nation, Phyllis Akins-Smith and Marie Metheny.

Both pinning ceremonies featured the traditional candle lighting ceremony which serves as a tribute to the founder of modern nursing, Florence Nightingale. The pin symbolizes a medal of excellence which Nightingale presented to her outstanding graduate nurses. Today, nursing graduates select a faculty member, family member or loved one to place the pin on their uniform marking the passage of the student nurse role to the role of a practicing nurse.

Students completing both nursing programs are now qualified to take the National Council Licensure Examinations for their respective practice.

Students completing the ADN program are:

Inyoung Barrows
Chelsey Bourdon
Suzanne Chandler
Myra Clark
Ivan Correa Lopez
Rose DeLaGarza
Alicia Hawker
Rachel Hester
Brianna Holden
Eunbit Houghton
Candis Johnson
Susan Kim
Sarai Longhenhry
Shelby Marenco
Sandra Nash
Michelle Parsons
Alethea Reeves
Fabiola Santiago
Lauren Smiley
Diana Trujillo
Christina Williams

Fort Hood
Lisa Aguinaga,
Genet Anderson
Heather Losee

Harker Heights
Kimberley Houghtaling
Quintella Mallory
Lynn Myers
Jennifer Stone
Jeallyn Tria

Jennifer Lallis
Kenneth Meyer
Kristina Stout

Alexandria Nunnally

Copperas Cove
Shanah Adkins
Andrea Bean
Rebecca Blitz
Kristin Cummings
Meaghan Findley
Paul Mullins
Danielle Rodriguez
Ciara Salazar

Kayla Cox
Crystal Cude
D’Mietress Myers
April Thomas

Jessica Stinson

San Saba
Michelle Daniels

Lago Vista
Jonathan Ball

Allison Gallegos

Round Rock
Suzette Isokpunwu
Bethany Tynes

Liberty Hill
Andri Kelly

Olisa Ndugaubu

K’lee Reynolds

Completing the LVN program were:

Phyllis Akins
Coco Calzado
Cairoshell Engleton
Rebeca Gutierrez
Arielle Kaplan
Ashley Lowery
Rysheich Nicholson
Jean Rosales
Jeffrey Sauber
Kristi-Ann Smith

Ft. Hood
Tanita Davis
Rita Nation
Taryn Yanez

Copperas Cove
Patricia Akhigormehi
Travis Arnold
Keasha Emilson
Elizabeth Gault
Carolyn Novy

Marie Metheny

Coco Foster

Liberty Hill
Jenna Cotton

Round Rock
Bernardine Busano
Beatrice Gone

Elm Mott
Rayveon Washington

This entry was posted in Texas Campus News. Bookmark the permalink.