CTC aviation team finishes second in regional championships

The Central Texas College (CTC) aviation team earned runner-up honors at the Region IV Intercollegiate Flying Association Safety and Flight Evaluation Conference (SAFECON) championship held recently at Louisiana Tech University in Ruston, LA. CTC captured first place in the overall team flying events for the second consecutive year and second place in the ground events which placed them second overall. As regional runner-up, CTC qualifies for the national SAFECON flying competition at Ohio State University May 6-11, 2014.

More than 100 student pilots from seven colleges participated in the regional competition which tests a broad variety of aviation skills, both on the ground and in the air. Flight events included short-field landings, power-off landings and navigation. Ground events included tests measuring a pilot’s knowledge of regulations, weather and their ability to do aviation math without electronic aids.

Overall, CTC scored 568 points (20 points behind winner LeTourneau University). CTC won the flight events with a score of 352 points (30 points ahead of Texas State Technical College – Waco). In the ground events, CTC scored a total of 216 points to finish second place behind LeTourneau.

Representing CTC were Robert Mazyrack (captain), Max Wiener (captain), Austin Boney, Parker Boney, Killian Brooks, Rohaise Firth-Butterfield, Alexander Grzelecki, Mason Ross, Steffany Royal and Michael Steele. The team was led by coach Michael Hutyra.

Individual honors were won by A. Boney who finished in third place in the top pilot category. Also finishing among the top 10 pilots were Wiener in fifth place and Steele in 10th place. A. Boney was also the top scoring male pilot in the competition with 142 points. Other top scorers from CTC were Wiener – sixth place; Mazyrack – seventh place; Steele – 12th place; Ross – 15th place; P. Boney – 37th place; Brooks – 40th place; and Grzelecki – 42nd place.

Royal and Firth-Butterfield finished as fourth and fifth top scoring female pilots respectively.

As a team, CTC captured the competition’s Red Baron Team Sportsmanship Award and finished second for the Judge’s Trophy which is based on the overall participation of a team’s individual members.

The team results were:

Navigation (contestants are evaluated by comparing actual flight data with estimated planned data submitted by the student for a 70-120 nautical mile cross-country flight): Wiener (pilot) and Royal (observer) – second place; A. Boney (pilot) and Ross (observer) – fifth place; and Mazyrack (pilot) and Steele (observer) – sixth place.

Short Field Approach and Landing (test the pilot’s skill at maneuvering and manipulating the aircraft when attempting to land on a target line): Wiener – second place; Ross – sixth place; A. Boney – seventh place; Steele – ninth place; and Mazyrack – 12th place.

Power-off Landing (same as short field landing only with the aircraft engine on idle during the downward leg abeam of the target line): Steele – second place; A. Boney – sixth place; Wiener -22nd place; Mazyrack – 23rd place; and Ross – 25th place.

Message Drop (a two-person crew attempts to hit a target on the ground with a message container dropped from the aircraft): A. Boney (drop master)/Royal (pilot) – second place; Firth-Butterfield (drop master)/Ross (pilot) – third place; Mazyrack(drop master)/Wiener (pilot) – 14th place; Alexander Grzelecki (drop master)/Killian Brooks (pilot) – 18th place; Steele (drop master)/P. Boney (pilot) – 22nd place.

Aircraft Pre-Flight Inspection (students are given 15 minutes to inspect a common training aircraft which has been “bugged” with multiple problems and identify the problems): Mazyrack – second place; Wiener – fourth place.

Computer Accuracy (written examination based on problem solving using one or more manual flight computers): Royal – fifth place; Steele – eighth place; Wiener – 13th place; Mazyrack – 14th place; A. Boney – 17th place.

Aircraft Recognition (students are given three seconds to identify the manufacturer, common name and model number of aircraft from all over the world, both past and present): Ross – third place; Brooks – seventh place; Firth-Butterfield – 10th place; Grzelecki – 11th place; Steele – 17th place.

Ground Trainer (designed to test the competency and skill of students using a flight training device measuring proficiency in altitude, heading and airspeed control): A. Boney – third place; P. Boney – fourth place.

Simulated Comprehensive Aircraft Navigation or SCAN (written exam with problems which reference a simulated cross-country flight over a given route): Mazyrack – ninth place; A. Boney – 10th place; Wiener – 11th place; Royal – 17th place; Ross – 18th place.

Competing schools in the Region IV event were CTC, Delta State University (Mississippi), Hinds Community College (Mississippi), Louisiana Tech, University of Louisiana at Monroe, LeTourneau University (Longview, TX) and Texas State Technical College (Waco, TX).

CTC will now advance to the national SAFECON event in May 2014. Last year, CTC won first place among the competing two-year schools for the second consecutive year. The team was 11th overall with a sixth place finish in the flight events and 18th in the ground events. Individual honors at last year’s national event were won by Ross, who placed 15th in the National Top Pilot Award category and finished as the 29th highest point scorer of all the male contestants (31st overall). Other CTC top scorers were A. Boney (19th, 21st overall), and Mazyrack, tied (102nd, 110th overall).

CTC offers a two-year program leading to an associate in applied science degree and the commercial pilot certification with an instrument rating. The curriculum includes 14 core courses in aviation such as private flight, advanced air navigation, aviation meteorology, instrument flight and aerodynamics.

This entry was posted in Texas Campus News. Bookmark the permalink.