CTC awards nursing pins to graduates

The Central Texas College (CTC) Nursing Department recognized 31 graduates of the Associate Degree Nursing program during a pinning ceremony today in the Anderson Campus Center (Bldg. 156). The pinning signifies the passage of the student nurse role to the role of a practicing nurse. Guest speaker for the event was Enid Cooke a registered nurse at Metroplex Hospital.

Graduating with highest honors for earning at least a 3.8 grade point average in nursing courses were Kimberly Havens, Elizabeth Labadens and Rani Nelson. Students maintaining at least a 3.5 grade point average in their nursing courses graduated with honors. They were Elizabeth Combs, Stephanie Effarah, Stephanie Henigin, Elaine Lopez, Rachel Mastache, Cassandra Schuetz and Regina Tralle.

Several awards were presented during the ceremony. Winner of the Mack Duce Award for nursing excellence was Elizabeth Combs. The Caring Heart Award for exemplifying the three C’s (caring, compassion and concern) was presented to Stephanie Henigin. Receiving a gift certificate from Monarch uniforms was Brianne Chavez.

Another tradition associated with the nursing pinning ceremony is the candle lighting ceremony. Each nursing graduate and faculty member is presented a candle which is lit before citing the Nurse’s Pledge which serves as a professional mission statement reflecting the deep-seated vision and values of nursing.

The spring 2014 CTC nursing graduates are:

Shajjia Ahmed, Temple; Brianne Chavez, Killeen; Stephanie Effarah, Copperas Cove; Ruth Freston, Killeen; Kimberly Havens, Harker Heights; Stephanie Henigin, Copperas Cove; Neila Higuera, Harker Heights; Andrea Kiser, Temple; Elizabeth Labadens, Copperas Cove; Elaine Lopez, Killeen; Rachel Mastache, Copperas Cove; Tresa McCormick, Harker Heights; Ranie Nelson, Harker Heights; Esosa Osawaru, Copperas Cove; Cassandra Schuetz, Killeen; Regina Tralle, Copperas Cove; Stacy Whitley, Belton; and Paris Williams, Harker Heights.

Other nursing graduates are: Tanya Beard, Cottonwood Shores; Christopher Buccelli, Cedar Park; Melissa Carney; Georgetown; Elisabeth Combs, Florence; Sheila Frazier, Burnet; Amanda Grenwelge, Meadowlakes; Kendra Hammack, Georgetown; Melissa Ibarra, Leander; Michele Lopez, Leander; Carrie Parker, Granite Shoals; Biance Roscoe, Lampasas; Keri Summerville, Marble Falls; and Cheri Lynn Traenkle, Meadowlakes;

This entry was posted in Events, Texas Campus News. Bookmark the permalink.